Sunday, December 05, 2021


Russia requests that responsible for cyberattacks be punished

Russia requests that responsible for cyberattacks be punished

Moscow, Sep 22 (Prensa Latina) The commission of the State Duma (Lower House of Parliament) of Russia investigating interference in the country's internal affairs asked that the instigators of cyberattacks against the online voting system be sanctioned.
Share on facebook
Share on twitter
Share on whatsapp
Share on telegram
Share on email

The president of said commission, Vasili Piskariov, reported that he sent the General Prosecutor’s Office a report of calls from abroad to carry out computer sabotage against the online voting system set up by the country.

‘During the three days that the elections lasted, there were numerous systematic attempts to hack the system. Those responsible must receive the punishment they deserve,’ the official said at a press conference.

Russia made online voting available to its citizens in Moscow, Sevastopol and in five regions of the country in order to avoid crowds at polling stations during voting.

On the first election day, the Ministry of Digital Development reported that American hackers were attacking voting systems. Two and a half hours after the start of the elections, a DDoS or denial of services attack occurred, explained the Ministry, as quoted by the TASS news agency.

It was also denounced that more than 50 percent of the attacks on Russian servers came from IP addresses from the United States, 25 percent from Germany and five percent from Ukraine.

The Moscow embassy in Washington demanded explanations of these events from the White House.


name of Prensa Latina

| Text SMS to 8100 with content PL
Receive 4 mesages x 25 cup

© 2016-2021 Prensa Latina
Latin American News Agency

Radio – Publications  – Videos – News by the minute.
All Rigts Reserved.

St. E No 454 , Vedado,  Habana, Cuba.
Phones: (+53) 7 838 3496, (+53) 7 838 3497, (+53) 7 838 3498, (+53) 7 838 3499
Prensa Latina © 2021 .

Web Site developed by IT Division  Prensa Latina.