Sunday, May 22, 2022
name of Prensa Latina
Bandera inglesa
English Edition
name of Prensa Latina



Second medical university founded in Cuba celebrates 60 years

Cuba, universidad, médica, aniversario

Second medical university founded in Cuba celebrates 60 years

Santiago de Cuba, Feb 10 (Prensa Latina) The University of Medical Sciences in this eastern city, the second one founded in Cuba and the first one outside Havana, is celebrating its 60th anniversary on Thursday with notable impacts in and outside the country in training professionals.
Share on facebook
Share on twitter
Share on whatsapp
Share on telegram
Share on email

Dr. Migdalia Fernandez, rector of that educational institution, stated that more than 52,000 Cuban students, mainly from the eastern region, and others from 61 nations globally have graduated there.

Fernandez stated that since its beginning, the center belonged to the University of Oriente until it became the Higher Institute of Medical Sciences and later, the University of Medical Sciences, in 2009.

Since 2015, it has two Faculties of Medicine and those of Stomatology, Nursing and Technology.

Fernandez alluded the tribute to the founders on the occasion of the six decades, the virtual meeting with foreign graduates and the extension of the commemorative program to hospitals, polyclinics, doctor’s offices and other healthcare centers where the professional training is in practice.

The University of Medical Sciences also played a significant role in the development of the clinical trials for the Abdala (CIGB-66) vaccine, which began in this city and the Saturnino Lora Provincial Teaching Hospital, she added.


name of Prensa Latina

| Text SMS to 8100 with content PL
Receive 4 mesages x 25 cup

© 2016-2021 Prensa Latina
Latin American News Agency

Radio – Publications  – Videos – News by the minute.
All Rigts Reserved.

St. E No 454 , Vedado,  Habana, Cuba.
Phones: (+53) 7 838 3496, (+53) 7 838 3497, (+53) 7 838 3498, (+53) 7 838 3499
Prensa Latina © 2021 .

Web Site developed by IT Division  Prensa Latina.