Monday, May 27, 2024
name of Prensa Latina
Bandera inglesa
English Edition
Close this search box.
name of Prensa Latina



Cuban governors and vice governors to be sworn in

Havana, May 13 (Prensa Latina) The Cuban Council of State (CE) said on Monday that new governors and vice governors in the provinces of Matanzas, Villa Clara, Santiago de Cuba and Cienfuegos will be sworn in on May 21.

According to a press release published on the website of the Cuban National People’s Power Assembly (Parliament), the ceremony will take place at 9:00 a.m. (local time).

The information adds that the members of the Executive Committee designated to preside over the ceremonies in each of these territories are Esteban Lazo (Santiago de Cuba), Ana María Mari Machado (Villa Clara), Homero Acosta (Cienfuegos) and Ulises Guilarte de Nacimiento (Matanzas), by agreement no. 176-X, published today in the Official Gazette of the Republic No. 34 (extraordinary).

The election of governors and vice governors in these four Cuban provinces was held on May 4, the press release said.

It stressed that, according to information from the National Electoral Council (CEN), on that day all candidates were elected with more than 90 percent of the valid votes, in a democratic day, with transparency and adherence to the law, as characterizes the Cuban electoral system.