Sunday, July 14, 2024
name of Prensa Latina
Bandera inglesa
English Edition
Close this search box.
name of Prensa Latina



Cuba will assume pro tempore presidency of ALADI

Montevideo, Jun 25 (Prensa Latina) Cuba will assume the pro tempore presidency of the Committee of Representatives of the Latin American Integration Association (ALADI) with a constructive vision, stated Ambassador to Uruguay and to the Association Zulan Popa.

“For Cuba it is an honor to assume the presidency of the Committee, which it will hold until next December,” the diplomat told Prensa Latina. “It is going to be a period of great activity, and we have all the will and commitment to develop this task accordingly,” she said, adding that among the objectives that the Cuban representation will carry out will be to make the group more visible from the communication point of view.

“Cuba has been part of the Association since 1999 and by assuming the pro tempore presidency we will commemorate 25 years of Cuban membership,” announced the ambassador, and defined Cuba’s participation as active and recalled that on other occasions she chaired the Committee of Representatives.

Popa highlighted the tenth edition of the Macro Business Roundtable Expo ALADI 2023, which was held last November in Havana, and she described it as successful.

“We have every will for the presidency to support, coordinate, and execute the actions necessary for the work of the ALADI and increase the integration between our countries that is so necessary,” said the diplomat, who spoke in favor of the work articulated with the Secretariat of ALADI and in advancing on issues such as the implementation of the Pymes Latinas Grandes Negocios (Latin SMEs Large Businesses) platform, which offers tools designed for small and medium-sized businesses in the region.

Popa highlighted the Association’s integrationist approach, which, he said, has avoided excluding or sanctioning countries for political or other reasons. “Its purpose is to integrate, not exclude,” she said.

ALADI is the largest Latin American integration group, representing more than 510 million inhabitants. Its members are Argentina, Bolivia, Brazil, Chile, Colombia, Cuba, Ecuador, Mexico, Panama, Paraguay, Peru, Uruguay, and Venezuela.