Sunday, July 14, 2024
name of Prensa Latina
Bandera inglesa
English Edition
Close this search box.
name of Prensa Latina



South African president to announce new cabinet today

Pretoria, June 30 (Prensa Latina) South African President Cyril Ramaphosa will announce today the members of his new executive cabinet.

According to the presidency, the new National Executive will constitute the Seventh Democratic Administration as a Government of National Unity (GUN) made up of a diversity of political parties.

The formation of the GUN Council of Ministers, led by the African National Congress (ANC), took longer than expected due to certain differences regarding the allocation of ministries between the ANC itself and the Democratic Alliance (DA).

The success of the GUN, according to Ramaphosa, will be measured by “the extent to which we are willing to focus not on who will govern, but on how we will govern together”.

The GUN is made up of 10 of the 18 parties with seats in the National Assembly, led by the ANC, with 159 seats, the DA 87, while the Inkatha Freedom Party (IFP) reached 17.

Thus, as a whole, the GUN has a minimum of 263 legislators, enough to constitute a majority.