Monday, June 17, 2024
name of Prensa Latina
Bandera inglesa
English Edition
Close this search box.
name of Prensa Latina



Cuba and Belarus open joint Intergovernmental Commission session

Minsk, Jun 11 (Prensa Latina) Cuban Deputy Prime Minister Ricardo Cabrisas and Belarusian Deputy Foreign Minister Evgueni Shestakov inaugurated in Minsk, the 11th Session of the Cuba-Belarus Intergovernmental Commission.

In their interventions at the Commission session, which is ongoing in Minsk until June 12th, both functionaries pointed out the potential and prospects for continuing to promote them. They also reviewed the current economic, commercial, financial, and cooperation relations between Cuba and Belarus.

Cabrisas and Shestakov agreed on the will of both governments and peoples to strengthen bilateral ties and raise them to a qualitatively higher level.

Cabrisas appreciated that regardless of what has been achieved to date, the reality is that there is a lot of work ahead, under the priorities and challenges faced by both nations. He insisted that “we cannot do more of the same,” so it is necessary to gain systematical monitoring implementation with the agreements adopted in these bilateral meetings.

The Deputy Prime Minister and part of the delegation accompanying him met earlier with the Chairman of the Board of Directors of the Development Bank of Belarus, Siarhei Staliarchuk. During the meeting, the parties highlighted the importance of bilateral economic and commercial ties.

Staliarchuk ratified the existence of financial capabilities to support Belarusian exports to Cuba and the willingness to support joint projects between Belarusian and Cuban companies.

The head of the Cuban delegation requested to define the actions to be developed, to clarify pending issues, and promote new interests of common benefit.

As part of the activities in the context of the XI Session of the Intergovernmental Commission, the Ministry of Tourism of Cuba and the Ministry of Sports and Tourism of Belarus signed the “Roadmap for the Development of Key Areas of Cooperation in the tourism sector in the period 2024-2026”.