Friday, June 14, 2024
name of Prensa Latina
Bandera inglesa
English Edition
Close this search box.
name of Prensa Latina



Russia bans eight EU officials from entering the country

Moscow, Apr 30 (Prensa Latina) Russia's Foreign Ministry informed on Friday that eight officials of official organizations of the European Union (EU) have been banned from entering the country, in response to restrictive measures against six citizens of this country.

According to a press release from Russia’s Foreign Ministry, the list includes the President of the European Parliament, David Sassoli, and the Vice President of the European Commission in charge of Values and Transparency, Vera Jourova.

Jacques Maire, member of the French delegation to the Parliamentary Assembly of the Council of Europe, among others, will not be allowed to enter Russian territory either.

The communiqué warns that the community bloc ‘continues with its policy of illegitimate unilateral restrictions against Russian citizens and organizations.’

The text refers that Moscow is thus responding to the sanctions imposed by the EU on March 2 and 22 against six Russian citizens, and notes that the European bloc’s measures are intended to ‘openly challenge Russia’s domestic and foreign policy independence.’