Friday, May 24, 2024
name of Prensa Latina
Bandera inglesa
English Edition
Close this search box.
name of Prensa Latina



Bolivian President urges to create a new world order

La Paz, Mar 2 (Prensa Latina) The President of Bolivia, Luis Arce, reaffirmed today at the 7th Summit of the Forum of Gas Exporting Countries (FPEG), in Algeria, his support for the emergence and consolidation of a new world order.

“We are gathered today in a context marked by the challenges involved in the reorganization of a new World Order’, the dignitary said.

In this context, he assured that “the emergence and consolidation of trade blocs such as those of Africa, South America and the BRICS, open up the possibility of accessing international markets without the need to compromise our sovereignty”.

On July 12, 2023, the President wrote to the leaders of the BRICS (Brazil, Russia, India, China and South Africa), a message in which he expressed Bolivia’s willingness to be part of that bloc.

Founded in 2009, the BRICS group brings together more than 40 percent of the world’s population and 30 percent of the world’s gross domestic product; among its achievements is the creation of the New Development Bank, aimed at promoting transactions outside the U.S. dollar.

In August 2023, Arce participated in the Brics Summit in South Africa, where he reiterated Bolivia’s aspiration to join the bloc and establish trade exchanges based on a common currency.

On Friday, during his participation in the 8th Summit of Heads of State and Government of the Community of Latin American and Caribbean States, in Saint Vincent and the Grenadines, he insisted on the importance of the Brics as a sovereignty option for the peoples of the Global South.

This Saturday, before the members of the FPEG, the Bolivian president advocated for a multipolar and multicentric world.

He called for solidarity, complementarity, respect for human rights beyond the concepts of liberalism and their effective materialization.

He also urged to defend the full legal and political equality of States, respect for the self-determination of nations and care for Mother Earth. We have a commitment to the next generations to achieve Sustainable Development.

Created in 2001, the PFGE is made up of twelve permanent members (Algeria, Russia, Venezuela, Bolivia, Trinidad and Tobago, Egypt, Equatorial Guinea, Libya, Nigeria, Iran, United Arab Emirates and Qatar), as well as seven observers (Peru, Iraq, Azerbaijan, Malaysia, Mauritania, Angola and Mozambique).