Tuesday, June 18, 2024
name of Prensa Latina
Bandera inglesa
English Edition
Search
Close this search box.
name of Prensa Latina

NEWS

NEWS

Russia’s Progress MS-25 cargo ship undocks from ISS

Moscow, May 28 (Prensa Latina) The Progress MS-25 cargo ship has undocked from the Poisk mini-research module of the Russian segment on the International Space Station (ISS) in order to free the docking port for the next space freighter.

Russia’s State Space Corporation Roscosmos told TASS News Agency on Tuesday that MS-25 is undocking from the ISS, where it arrived at the orbital outpost on December 3, 2023, delivering over 2.5 tons of cargo, including the special Incubator-3 complex and 48 Japanese quail eggs, with the help of which the Quail experiment was carried out.

It also carried the equipment for the Quartz-M experiment, which the cosmonauts installed outside the station during their extravehicular activities.

The Progress MS-25 resupply ship is set to fire braking thrusters at 2:48 p.m. Moscow time (11:48 a.m. GMT) to deorbit and enter the dense layers of the Earth’s atmosphere.

Most of the resupply ship will burn out in the atmosphere while its incombustible fragments will splash down in the non-navigable area of the southern Pacific Ocean at around 3:29 p.m. Moscow time (12:29 p.m. GMT).

The Progress MS-25 cargo craft will vacate its place for the Progress MS-27 resupply ship scheduled to blast off from the Baikonur cosmodrome on May 30 and dock with the ISS on June 1.

The Progress MS is a Russian automated cargo spacecraft developed specially for servicing orbital stations.

It is being used to deliver various cargo to the orbital outpost (propellant, scientific equipment, oxygen, potable water, food and other items), and also to adjust its orbit.

pll/arm/lam/gfa

LATEST NEWS
RELATED