Friday, June 14, 2024
name of Prensa Latina
Bandera inglesa
English Edition
Close this search box.
name of Prensa Latina



Russia announces countries partnership category inclusion in BRICS.

Moscow, Jun 7 (Prensa Latina) In addition to full membership, the BRICS group will have partner countries in the future, announced Foreign Minister of Russia Sergei Lavrov.

“The category of partner countries will be introduced, it will have to be presented in detail in terms of the criteria and nations that can qualify for this rank,” the minister said on Russian television this Friday.

Lavrov also stressed that now that Russia holds the presidency, it pays close attention to initiating newcomers to the existing forms and traditions of the BRICS.

The head of Russian diplomacy also confirmed that he will participate in the meeting of BRICS foreign ministers in the Russian city of Nizhny Novgorod on June 10th and 11th.

The BRICS group, initially composed of Brazil, Russia, India, China and South Africa, is an alliance of emerging markets and developing countries, founded on bonds of friendship, solidarity, and common interests.

Following the joining of Saudi Arabia, Egypt, the United Arab Emirates, Ethiopia and Iran as of January 1st, 2024, BRICS now has 10 member states.

The bloc accounts for nearly half of the world’s population, more than 40 percent of global crude oil production, and around 25 percent of world exports.