Tuesday, June 28, 2022
name of Prensa Latina
Bandera inglesa
English Edition
name of Prensa Latina



Costa Rica, Ecuador, Colombia, Panama will conserve marine ecosystem

Costa Rica, Ecuador, Colombia, Panama will conserve marine ecosystem

Glasgow, United Kingdom, Nov 3 (Prensa Latina) Costa Rica, Ecuador, Colombia and Panama signed Tuesday a pioneering declaration for the protection and management.
Share on facebook
Share on twitter
Share on whatsapp
Share on telegram
Share on email

Proposed by the Presidents of Costa Rica, Carlos Alvarado; from Ecuador, Guillermo Lasso; from Colombia, Iván Duque; and from Panama, Laurentino Cortizo, the declaration was considered by these leaders as a milestone in the development of the United Nations Conference on Climate Change (COP26), which is held in this Scottish city.

The four countries pledged to carry out different national and regional efforts on these islands and the corridors that connect them, including carrying out a process that would conclude with the creation of a Marine Biosphere Reserve between the islands.

The Tico president said that from Latin America, four countries have become even more twinned to send a clear message to the world that we must move forward with actions to protect our planet and, in this case, the oceans.

After pointing out that the protection of nature is a fundamental step to face climate change, Alvarado described having healthy oceans as vital in order to protect hundreds of marine species that are important for the ecosystems and for the people of the region.

He stressed that they are not conserving just any ecosystem, but rather valuable ones such as those of Galapagos, Isla del Coco and its surroundings, which he – he said – are among the most important in the world.

For his part, Lasso said that COP26 is justified by this very important act, in which – he specified – both the environment ministers and the foreign ministers of the four signatory nations have worked.

During the initiation, they revealed that various scientific studies show that the Isla del Coco National Park and the Submarine Mountains Marine Management Area, in Costa Rica; the Galapagos Marine Reserve, in Ecuador; the Malpelo Fauna and Flora Sanctuary, in Colombia, and the Coiba National Park and the Cordillera Coiba Managed Resources Area, in Panama, constitute a unique interconnected ecosystem.

The waters between these islands function as biological corridors through which sharks, tunas, turtles, rays, whales and many other migratory marine species transit, they said and added that these so-called “migratory routes” connect the islands and provide enormous services to ecosystems and the communities of the region.

With the signing of the declaration, they advanced, the four countries agreed to begin a process of dialogue to achieve these ends and safeguard the oceanic heritage of humanity.


name of Prensa Latina

| Text SMS to 8100 with content PL
Receive 4 mesages x 25 cup

© 2016-2021 Prensa Latina
Latin American News Agency

Radio – Publications  – Videos – News by the minute.
All Rigts Reserved.

St. E No 454 , Vedado,  Habana, Cuba.
Phones: (+53) 7 838 3496, (+53) 7 838 3497, (+53) 7 838 3498, (+53) 7 838 3499
Prensa Latina © 2021 .

Web Site developed by IT Division  Prensa Latina.