Wednesday, December 08, 2021


S. Korea elected to chair IAEA board of governors

S. Korea elected to chair IAEA board of governors

Seoul, Sep 27 (Prensa Latina) South Korea was elected as the next chair of the Board of Governors of the International Atomic Energy Agency (IAEA) on Monday for the first time since it joined the UN nuclear watchdog in 1957.
Share on facebook
Share on twitter
Share on whatsapp
Share on telegram
Share on email

The 35-member IAEA board reached the decision by consensus at a meeting held in Vienna, the foreign ministry said in a press release.

Shin Chae-hyun, South Korean ambassador to Austria and the Permanent Mission to the International Organizations in Vienna, will serve as the chair for a one-year term until September 2022.

It marks the first time the country has assumed the chairmanship at the IAEA board, which is in charge of making policy, financial and other recommendations to the IAEA’s General Conference, its decision-making body.

The board also approves nuclear safeguard agreements and the publication of the IAEA safety standards.


name of Prensa Latina

| Text SMS to 8100 with content PL
Receive 4 mesages x 25 cup

© 2016-2021 Prensa Latina
Latin American News Agency

Radio – Publications  – Videos – News by the minute.
All Rigts Reserved.

St. E No 454 , Vedado,  Habana, Cuba.
Phones: (+53) 7 838 3496, (+53) 7 838 3497, (+53) 7 838 3498, (+53) 7 838 3499
Prensa Latina © 2021 .

Web Site developed by IT Division  Prensa Latina.